‘Blackness & Police Violence: Two Peas in a Pod’ (A Real Life Short Story)


Has Happened To You?
Well it happened to my sweet friend Shaquana!

Well It shouldn’t!! And we wonder why we continue to have events like Michael Brown, Freddie Gray and ALL the others. It truly is “Time For Change” for our Police Departments in America!

EverythingShaquana.com

“If you’re not careful, the newspapers will have you hating the people who are being oppressed, and loving the people who are doing the oppressing.”
Malcolm X


In Aug. of 2013, I experienced one of the most traumatic experiences of my life. I haven’t had the courage and strength to write about it in its entirety until now. I was reading my regular daily selection of internet news, and I came across the craziest, though, unsurprising article. A woman, Kam Brock, was committed to a mental institution at Harlem Hospital, by the NYPD apparently for telling them that she was followed by Barack Obama on Twitter.

Literally the article title reads, “Women Held in Psych Ward Over Obama Twitter Claim.” Can you believe that? Apparently, the NYPD impounded Kam’s car for iffy claims, and when she went to pick her car up, the police were…

View original post 3,925 more words

